The United Way of Bucks County Launches Bucks Women a Bucks County Women's Initiative

Top Quote Kick-off Event Power of the Purse is on March 8, 2012. End Quote
  • Philadelphia, PA-NJ (1888PressRelease) December 22, 2011 - The United Way of Bucks County has launched its Bucks County Women's Initiative, Bucks Women. This initiative promotes the empowerment of women and girls in Bucks County, Pa., by focusing on economic self-sufficiency and next generation leadership development. The leadership of the former Bucks County Women's Fund is lending its support to the initiative by sharing knowledge, expertise, and best practices in order to ensure delivery of the same level of programming to the community.

    The 2012 kick-off event for Bucks Women, Power of the Purse, will take place on Thursday, March 8, 2012, International Women's Day. This grant-making dinner and auction, which celebrated its 20th year in 2011, will remain a signature event for Bucks Women. Lynn Doyle, host and executive producer for "It's Your Call with Lynn Doyle," will serve as emcee.

    Power of the Purse is about celebrating women and philanthropy in Bucks County. This signature event is expected to bring together 500 members of the community who will witness the work of several notable women and girls making a difference locally and globally. Opportunities to help raise money for future grants and programs that tackle inequity and empower women to improve their lives and communities include a silent auction, sponsorships and advertising.

    Among the Bucks County women serving on the Advisory Committee are: Judy Archibald;
    Francine Block; Melissa Bond, Esq.; Grace Deon, Esq.; Connie Eastburn; Kathleen Horwatt;
    Kristie Kin; Karen Kreller; Diane Ellis-Marseglia; Sandra Miller; Elizabeth Sigety, Esq.; Binny Silverman; Bonnie Stein, Esq.; Lisa Ventresca; Elizabeth Vibber and Diane Vincent.

    The event planning committee includes: Yvette E. Taylor-Hachoose, Esq. (Co-Chair); Jennifer Voutsinas (Co-Chair); Nicole Armani; Sharon Barker; Carol Barocca; Jeannie Foy; Robyn Johnson; Karen Junod; Mary Lacata; Mary Jane Laquer; Kimberly Lux; Patricia A. Markel; Lara Mraz; Meg McSweeney; Gail Munz-Fassler; Kathleen Holt-Whyte; JoAnn Perotti; Gina Furia Rubel, Esq.; Kellyann Schaefer; Lindsey Walker and Amanda Walsh.

    For maximum sponsorship or advertisement benefit, a commitment deadline is set for December 22, 2011. For more information on becoming a sponsor or advertising in the program booklet, please contact Patricia Gallagher at 215-949-1660, ext. 111 or patriciag ( @ ) uwbucks dot org.

  • FB Icon Twitter Icon In-Icon
Contact Information