IEEE Computer Society Election Opens on 4 August

Top Quote Voting for IEEE Computer Society's candidates for president-elect, first and second vice presidents, and Board of Governors will begin on Monday, 4 August. End Quote
  • (1888PressRelease) July 24, 2014 - LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., -Only Computer Society members without an email address in their member record, or those who have opted out of IEEE email communications, will receive a paper ballot package. Those who receive paper ballots should return them by mail using the business reply envelope provided or to the IEEE Technical Activities, ATTN: SGA, 445 Hoes Lane, PO Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331, USA.

    All other members will receive a broadcast email message with voting instructions to access their Web ballot package information. Members (undergraduate students are not eligible to vote) in all regions can vote via the Web at the Computer Society's election site. For replacement ballots or to request a paper ballot, call +1-732-562-3904 or email ieee-computervote ( @ ) ieee dot org dot

    The officers are elected to one-year terms and Board members to three-year terms, each beginning 1 January 2015. Candidate bio and position statements will be published in the August issue of Computer magazine, which is distributed to all members.

    Roger U. Fujii and Hironori Kasahara will be on the ballot for 2015 President-elect and 2016 President. The President oversees the Society's programs and operations and is a nonvoting member of most Society program boards and committees.

    Fujii, currently IEEE Division VIII Director, is president of Fujii Systems and formerly Vice President of Northrop Grumman's Network Communications Division. He also previously served as IEEE-CS Vice President of Standards Activities. Kasahara, a professor of computer engineering at Waseda University in Tokyo, is a member of the Board of Governors and has served as chair of the IEEE Computer Society Japan Chapter and a board member of the IEEE Tokyo Section.

    Candidates for 2015 First Vice President are Elizabeth (Liz) Burd and Charlene "Chuck" Walrad. Burd is Pro-Vice Chancellor for Learning and Teaching at Australia's University of Newcastle and IEEE-CS First Vice President of Member and Geographic Activities (MGA). Walrad is the founder of Davenport Consulting and IEEE Computer Society Treasurer.

    Second Vice President candidates are Satish Babu, Vice Chair, Awards and Recognition, of the Member and Geographic Activities Board; and David Ebert, IEEE CS Secretary.

    Babu is the Director of the International Centre for Free and Open Source Software and former president of the Computer Society of India. Ebert, a professor of electrical and computer engineering at Purdue University; and Director of the Visual Analytics for Command and Interoperability Centers, a Department of Homeland Security Center.

    The 12 candidates for 2015-2017 terms on the Board of Governors are:

    - Alfredo Benso, a computer engineering professor at the Politecnico di Torino in Italy

    - Gregory T. Byrd, a professor at North Carolina State University Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

    - Vladimir Getov, a professor of distributed and high-performance computing at the University of Westminster, London

    - Ming C. Lin, the John R. & Louise S. Parker Distinguished Professor of Computer Science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

    - Fabrizio Lombardi, ITC Endowed Chair in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering at Northeastern University

    - David Lomet, a principal researcher managing the Microsoft Research Database Group at Microsoft Research

    - Francisco R. Martinez, founder and CEO of Sistemas Azteca S.A.

    - Hausi A. Müller, Founder of the Bachelor of Software Engineering degree program at University of Victoria, Canada

    - Arnold Pears, leader of the UpCERG research group in Computing and Engineering Education at Uppsala University, Sweden

    - Forrest Shull, assistant director for Empirical Research at Carnegie Mellon University's Software Engineering Institute (SEI)

    - Jie Wu, Chair and Laura H. Carnell Professor in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences at Temple University, and

    - Albert Y. Zomaya, the Chair Professor of High Performance Computing & Networking and Australian Research Council Professorial Fellow in the School of Information Technologies, The University of Sydney.

    Ballots must be returned no later than 12:00 noon EDT on Monday, 6 October 2014. Results will be announced in Computer's December issue.

    About IEEE Computer Society
    IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis.

    The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferences, publications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinars, professional training, and the TechLeader Training Partner Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise, as well as the personalized information tool myComputer. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit

  • FB Icon Twitter Icon In-Icon
Contact Information