New Richard E. Merwin Scholarship Winners Announced

Top Quote Thirteen IEEE Computer Society student members from around the world have been awarded Richard E. Merwin Scholarships, which recognize and reward active student volunteer leaders who show promise in their academic and professional efforts. End Quote
  • Washington, DC-MD-VA-WV (1888PressRelease) February 19, 2013 - Merwin Awards are now being award twice per year. The next application deadline is 30 April. The scholarship is open to graduate students and undergraduate students in their final two years, who are IEEE Computer Society student members and are enrolled in a program in electrical or computer engineering, computer science, information technology, or a well-defined computer field.

    The latest Merwin winners represent 13 different universities in Australia, China, Colombia, Croatia, India, United Arab Emirates, and the United States. They are:

    Pavin Prasad Abraham, Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Technology, India
    Deepak Gargm, The University of Western Australia
    Gunturu Mahati, Birla Institute of Technology & Science, Dubai UAE
    William Rawlins Martin, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA
    Ananthatejas Raghava, National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal (NITK), India
    Rahul Raveendranath, College of Engineering, Trivandrum, India
    Goce Ristanoski, The University of Melbourne, Australia
    Damir Senic, University of Split, Croatia
    Madhuri Shanbhogue, National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal (NITK), India
    Karthik Siddavaram, Vignana Bharathi Institute of Technology, India
    Yao Xiu Hu, Sun Yat-Sen University, China
    Fabian Camilo Pena Lozano, Universidad Distrital Francisco Jose de Caldas, Bogota, Colombia
    Carlos Andres Lozano, Universidad de Los Andes, Bogota, Colombia

    For more information, visit

    This scholarship was created in honor of the late Richard E. Merwin, past president of IEEE Computer Society, to recognize and reward student leadership. The selected winners of this award will have the opportunity to serve as IEEE Computer Society Student Ambassadors for their IEEE region.

    About the IEEE Computer Society
    The IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for information technology training, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferences, publications, and a comprehensive digital library online, unique training webinars, professional training - e-learning courses, and a Corporate Affiliate Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit

    Contact Information
    Media Contact:
    Margo McCall :
    Corporate Communications Manager
    mmccall ( @ ) computer dot org
    (714) 816-2182 (office)
    (714) 822-9253 (mobile)

  • FB Icon Twitter Icon In-Icon
Contact Information