Mark Mckenzie Scores Dos Corazones Film' Max & Me Score Album Now Available On Sony Classical

Top Quote Over 100 musicians including world-renowned violinist Joshua Bell, London Boys Choir and more contribute to the epic score. End Quote
  • Los Angeles-Long Beach, CA (1888PressRelease) March 20, 2018 - Award-winning film composer Mark McKenzie reunites with the Mexico-based production company Dos Corazones Films for the animated feature, MAX AND ME. Previously, McKenzie scored for Dos Corazones’ THE GREATEST MIRACLE which was awarded “Best Indie Film Score” from the Hollywood Music in Media Awards and was nominated for “Best Score of the Year” by the International Film Music Critics Association. Sony Classical has just released the score album prior to the fall release of the film.

    Mark McKenzie’s epic score reflects the film’s message of hope, love, and beauty. McKenzie incorporated one-hundred thirty-five of London’s finest musicians at Abbey Road Studios to record MAX AND ME including violin virtuoso Joshua Bell performing with a symphony orchestra, the London Singers, the world renowned London boys choir, Libera and numerous other soloists. The animated film, MAX AND ME tells the true story of Polish priest Maximilian Kolbe, and the incredible challenges he faced during the Nazi invasion of Poland during World War II. Kolbe protected and helped Jews from Nazi persecution, and was punished then sent to Nazi death camp, Auschwitz. Kolbe asked those around him to not be overcome with hatred but to be filled with love for “Only love is creative.” His ultimate sacrifice came when he volunteered to die in place of a stranger who was distraught for his wife and children. The story unfolds through a present - day encounter of an older man, Gunter, and a rebellious teenager, DJ, using the story of Father Max to teach DJ many lessons in love and sacrifice. A portion of each sale of the MAX AND ME score will be donated to the Shoa Foundation, Word Vision and Catholic Relief Services.

    Mark McKenzie first opportunities were orchestrations for movie composers beginning with Academy Award nominated Bruce Broughton on the Steven Spielberg / Barry Levinson film Young Sherlock Holmes. That soundtrack was nominated for a Grammy Award and Mark quickly became the behind the scenes "go to" orchestrator for leading Hollywood composers including Academy Award winning Jerry Goldsmith, John Barry, Danny Elfman, Randy Edelman, Alan Silvestri, John Powell and John Williams. McKenzie has collaborated with Pop icons including Michael Jackson, Nile Rogers, and Sir Paul McCartney. His orchestral credits include blockbusters the DANES WITH WOLVES, GOOD WILL HUNTING, MEN IN BLACK, NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS, SPIDERMAN 1 & 2, STAR TREK VI, VII, and IX, A FEW GOOD MEN and SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE. Legendary Academy Award winning composer Jerry Goldsmith, in addition to relying on McKenzie to orchestrate his final seven films, called upon Mark McKenzie to compose for him when time constraints and health issues required it. One example is a piece called "Prison Uprising" composed for Goldsmith's score to The Last Castle. Paul McCartney described McKenzie’s work as, "brilliant!"

    Directors have described McKenzie’s film music talent as "unerring instincts to capture the film's emotional core" and "imbue each scene with nuanced music to knit together and propel the story, character and emotions." Variety's "Eye on the Oscars" opined, "Mark McKenzie's commanding orchestral prowess puts him among the foremost symphonists in Hollywood." The Los Angeles Times, The Hollywood Reporter, and numerous film music publications have described his music as "strikingly original... majestic...spiritual...deeply profound...filled with beauty and power...some of the most beautiful, lyrical, and emotionally resonant music ever written for film."

    MAX AND ME Track listing
    1. I Am (w/ Joshua Bell on violin) 1:13
    2. Two Crowns Vision 1:22
    3. Head in the Clouds Over You 2:16
    4. You Could be Anything 2:44
    5. In the Trenches 2:29
    6. If You Are So Intelligent Why Don’t You Believe? 5:22
    7. Ask and it Will Be Given to You 1:25
    8. When I’m Saying Me I Mean You :51
    9. Dare To Dream Bigger 1:51
    10. A Mother’s Prayer (w/ Joshua Bell on violin) 3:10
    11. Dapper Duds 1:50
    12. Sunset Hug 1:49
    13. I’m Sorry 3:02
    14. Nazi Brutality 3:17
    15. Prayer For Peace 3:40
    16. Auschwitz Cries 2:56
    17. Only Love is Creative 2:37
    18. I Love You (w/ Joshua Bell on violin) 4:00
    19. Triumph Over Fear and Death 3:20
    20. He Was Always With Me 1:50
    21. I Believe in You 4:12
    22. Heaven’s Welcome 2:28
    Violin Solos: Joshua Bell
    Orchestra Contractor: Isobel Griffiths
    Abby Road Recording Engineer: Peter Cobbin
    Mixing Engineer: Armin Steiner
    Conductor: Gordon Johnson
    Supervising Music & Scoring Editor: Marc S Perlman MPSE
    Additional Music Editing: David Lai
    Music Preparation: Gregg Nestor
    Assistant Recording Engineer: John Barrett
    Assistant Mixing Engineer: Christine Russell
    Orchestra Contractor: Isobel Griffiths
    Assistant Orchestra Contractor: Susie Gillis
    Orchestra Leader: Thomas Bowes
    Choir: London Voices
    Chorus Masters: Terry Edwards and Ben Parry
    Solo Vocalist: Clara Sanabras
    Boys Choir: Libera
    Libera Choir Director: Robert Prizeman
    Piano: Dave Arch
    Boy Soloist: Issac London
    Soundtrack Available on Sony Classical

  • FB Icon Twitter Icon In-Icon
Contact Information