Thriftworks To Release 3 New EP's

Top Quote Thrifworks returns with 3 new EP's: Fade, Fader & Fadest! End Quote
  • (1888PressRelease) October 28, 2014 - Release date: 3rd November 2014.

    "I'd recommend this to anyone with a working pair of ears and a brain between them, this album is what every boiler room set wishes it was". - SPUTNIK MUSIC.

    "THRIFTWORKS' sound is a reflection of where the forefront of electronic music is heading." - THE UNTZ.

    "A must listen for any fans of experimental hip hop production." - EARMILK.

    Innovative and experimental hip hop producer Jake Atlas, aka THRIFTWORKS, is on the verge of a typically bold undertaking, as he prepares to release three brand new albums later this year. With four LPs already under his belt, the prolific producer has garnered widespread acclaim from online tastemakers such as EARMILK and MAJESTIC, and also had his music featured on a GOPRO video that has already received over 5 million views.

    Based in Berkeley, California, THRIFTWORKS has developed his unique sound from a wide range of influences - from James Brown to Radiohead, right through to MF Doom and Flying Lotus. Characterised by deep low-end, broken beats and eclectic samples, THRIFTWORKS' sound has been winning over critics, fans and artists alike. He was recently hand selected by Bassnectar to do a 15 show national tour that included playing Red Rocks to a capacity crowd of 10,000 people, and has become a fixture of the US festival circuit after mind boggling performances to huge audiences at major events like Wakarusa, North Coast, Symbiosis and Lightning in a Bottle.

    Having honed his craft through an astounding body of work over the past three years, THRIFTWORKS' productions are centred in hip hop, and incorporate a huge range of sounds taken from glitch, IDM, dubstep, soul and more, all tinged with a healthy dose of the psychedelic. THRIFTWORKS is also a strong believer in the story-telling element of music,
    something that comes across strongly in his captivating and immersive soundscapes and the cohesive, fluid nature of his albums.

    In describing his three upcoming EPs, THRIFTWORKS explains that the first is comprised of "ethereal, spacey music", the second: "rapid fire, slappers and head nodders", while the third showcases "newer productions and longer songs with more of a story". These incredible upcoming releases are set to see THRIFTWORKS catapult from being a star of the underground experimental electronic scene into the consciousness of the wider music audience.


    - a fuerza
    - Wooming
    - Seismic Turf
    - L for W
    - rumor has it
    - Leeuwner Chops
    - Zhoner
    - Scene Unseen ft. Rustix
    - pathetic(a)
    - Georgeeee
    - thriftologist's interlude
    - In EXS
    - pad FUKKK
    - Reggie ft. Mythicalifornian.


    For all press enquiries please contact warren.morris ( @ ) theplayground dot

  • FB Icon Twitter Icon In-Icon
Contact Information