New Webinar: European Union Timber Regulation (EUTR)

Top Quote SGS invites you to attend the webinar "European Union Timber Regulation (EUTR)". This 45-minute complimentary webinar will inform you of key points and recent development of the Regulation and help you to understand the likely impact on your day-to-day activities. End Quote
  • (1888PressRelease) May 01, 2012 - The objective of this 45-minute complimentary webinar is to inform you of key points and recent development of the Regulation and help you to understand the likely impact on your day-to-day activities. Participants will also receive access to the complimentary copy of SGS' new white paper "Understanding the EU Timber Regulation 995/2010 and its Implications" at the end of the webinar.

    Agenda
    Introduction
    Effective Dates, History and background
    Articles in the regulation relating to Operators and Traders
    The role of chain of custody and third party verification schemes
    SGS Services to Operators and Traders

    Background
    European Union Regulation 995/2010 lays down the obligations for Operators who place timber and timber products on the European market for the first time, as well as the obligations of Traders in the supply chain between the forest of origin and the end user.
    The Regulation prohibits the supply of illegally harvested timber in the European market. In addition, Operators must exercise due diligence when placing timber or timber products on the market. They shall use due diligence system to assess and mitigate the risk of illegal timber being supplied.

    SGS has identified the obligations for organizations that fall within the scope of the Regulation. The webinar is designed to provide clarification on specific issues.

    The webinar is designed to provide participants with an understanding of Articles within the Regulation. The webinar will also provide information about the services and solutions offered by SGS to facilitate compliance with the Regulation.

    The webinar will be delivered by experts with experience auditing chain of custody systems and will presented in a relevant and informative manner by individuals with specific experience of the timber, paper and packaging sectors.

    Target audience
    Organizations involved with the supply and trade of timber, paper and packaging products
    Operators: Organizations or individuals responsible for placing timber on the European market.
    Traders: Organizations or individuals that purchase and or sell timber products, but do not take responsibility for first placement on the market.

    Presenter
    Mr. Tobin Gordon, SGS Global Program Manager, Chain of Custody

    Tobin has twelve years experience auditing chain of custody systems and managing chain of custody programmes. Tobin is currently working on a programme to deliver solutions to clients that facilitate compliance with European Union Regulation 995/2010. Tobin is also working to align delivery of chain of custody systems across the SGS network.

    Event location: Online

    Join one of the following complimentary sessions on 22 May 2012:

    Register for Session 1 (https://sgseventcenter.webex.com/sgseventcenter/onstage/g.php?d=704399935&t=a)
    09:00 a.m. London
    10:00 a.m. Paris, Berlin, Madrid, Amsterdam
    04:00 a.m. New York
    04:00 p.m. Singapore, Kuala Lumpur

    Register for Session 2 (https://sgseventcenter.webex.com/sgseventcenter/onstage/g.php?d=702241903&t=a)
    02:00 p.m. London
    03:00 p.m. Paris, Berlin, Madrid, Amsterdam
    09:00 a.m. New York
    09:00 p.m. Singapore, Kuala Lumpur

    ###
space
space
  • FB Icon Twitter Icon In-Icon
Contact Information
  • Outi Armstrong
  • Sgs
  • 1 place des Alpes 1211 Geneva 1 Switzerland
  • 1211
  • Voice: 41 22 739 9161
  • Visit our Site