NAIOP New Jersey Announces "Deal Of The Year" Finalists

Top Quote Winners to be Revealed at Twenty-fourth Annual Commercial Real Estate Awards Gala On May 12. End Quote
  • Newark, NJ (1888PressRelease) March 25, 2011 - The finalists for the highly coveted "Deal of the Year Awards" have been announced by the New Jersey Chapter of NAIOP, the Commercial Real Estate Development Association. Three winners, one for Economic Impact, one for Creative-Office, and one for Creative-Industrial, will be revealed at the Twenty-fourth Annual Commercial Real Estate Awards Gala on Thursday, May 12, 2011 at The Palace at Somerset Park. The finalists, chosen from a record number of entries, are (in random order):

    Watson Pharmaceuticals, Parsippany: a relocation and expansion deal that allowed New Jersey to retain a high-quality private-sector employer who is adding 300 jobs (Susan Mason, Ken Flynn and Fred Hyatt, Jones Lang LaSalle; Laura Palombo, TIAA-CREF; Don Sedia, Watson Pharmaceuticals; John Minervini, Tom Giannone, Mitti Liebersohn, Bill Brown and Josh Cohen, Cushman & Wakefield).

    Gateway Transit Village & Wellness Plaza, New Brunswick: a lease and sale deal involving a sustainable, urban-centered development injecting over $235 million into New Jersey's economy, creating 3,000 construction jobs and 450 permanent jobs (Christopher Paladino, New Brunswick Development Corporation; Richard Barnhart, Penrose Properties; Mitch Karon, New Brunswick Parking Authority; Antonio Calcado, Rutgers University; and Caren Franzini, NJ Economic Development Authority).

    111 Sylvan Avenue, Englewood Cliffs: the sale and construction of LG Electronics' new North American headquarters will create new construction jobs for two to three years, and will house 800 -1,000 employees (Jeffrey Dunne, Kevin Welsh, David Opper, Cheryl Haedt, Robert Norton, John Oh and Paul March, CB Richard Ellis; Ray Owens, George Wells and Sharon Ward, Piedmont Office Realty Trust).

    Coca-Cola Enterprises Distribution Center, South Brunswick: Coca-Cola's first LEED-certified facility on the East Coast, this new build-to-suit facility represents the return of industrial activity to New Jersey (Alex Klatskin and Steve Seiden, Forsgate Industrial Partners; Charles Klatskin, Charles Klatskin Company; Dan Foley and Tom Carragher, Studley).

    Macy*s Parade Studio, Moonachie: the build-to-suit of a new home for the Macy's Parade Studio within eight miles of the Lincoln Tunnel involved creative challenges under a tight deadline and created one of the longest lease terms in Meadowlands history (William Waxman, Mindy Lissner, Carrie Brown and Nicholas Nitti, CB Richard Ellis; Todd Scheffler, Robin Erichsen and John Piper, Macy*s; Edward Russo and Michael Pembroke, Russo Development).

    UBS-Lincoln Harbor Complex, Weehawken: the largest lease transaction completed in 2010 involved the sale of ownership interests and the retention of 3,000 New Jersey jobs (Linda Dow, Patrick Murphy and Robert Alexander, CB Richard Ellis; Emanuel Stern and Constantino Milano, Hartz Mountain Industries).

    BASF Build-to-Suit, Florham Park: lease and construction of BASF's new LEED Platinum North American Headquarters, which will anchor a world-class 268-acre master-planned sustainable mixed-use development (Leslie E. Smith, Jr. and Clark Machemer, Rockefeller Group Development Corp; Robert Donnelly, Marc Rosenberg and Robert Donnelly, Jr., Cushman & Wakefield, Inc.; Jamie Von Klemperer, KPF; Joseph Brancato, Gensler; and Thomas Reilly, Turner Construction Company).

    Princeton Forrestal Village, Plainsboro: the marketing and sale of 549,000+ square feet of office, retail and upscale restaurant buildings at this mixed-use complex involved multiple creative challenges ( Jeffrey Dunne, Kevin Welsh and David Gavin, CB Richard Ellis; Stephen Hoover, Michael Connolly and Andrew Ayala, GE Capital; Mitchell Hersh and James Nugent, Mack-Cali Realty Corporation; Richard Mandelbaum, Mandelbaum & Mandelbaum; Eric Witmondt, Woodmont Properties; Frederick Knapp, Related Management; and Chris Sameth, Investcorp International).

    The Deal of the Year nominees were judged by: Dr. James Hughes, Dean of the Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning & Public Policy at Rutgers University; Anne Strauss-Wieder, A. Strauss-Wieder Transportation, Economic & Strategy Consultants;
    Robert Johnson, Economic Development Consultant; William Hunt, President and CEO, Elmhurst Group; and Michael Seeve, President of Mountain Development Corp.

    Tickets are now on sale for the Gala, honoring the recipients of the 2011 Commercial Real Estate Awards: Lifetime Achievement Award Leslie E. Smith, Jr., Rockefeller Group Development Corporation; Impact Awards J. G. Petrucci Co., Inc. and KTR Capital Partners; Industry Service Award Wolff & Samson PC; and Chairman's Award: CB Richard Ellis. Gretchen Wilcox of G.S. Wilcox & Co. and William Hanson of NAI James E. Hanson are co-chairs of the Gala. For tickets, commemorative journal placements and sponsorship opportunities, please visit

  • FB Icon Twitter Icon In-Icon
Contact Information