Jane Antonia Cornish Scores Fireflies In The Garden

Top Quote British Academy Award-winning composer Jane Antonia Cornish scores Senator Entertainment's Fireflies in the Garden to be released in New York, Los Angeles, Chicago and San Franciso October 14, 2011. The film is directed by Dennis Lee and stars Julia Roberts, Willem Dafoe, Emily Watson and Ryan Reynolds. End Quote
  • Los Angeles-Long Beach, CA (1888PressRelease) November 09, 2011 - Semi-autobiographical in nature, Fireflies in the Garden explores themes of love and commitment through the story of a family faced with unexpected tragedy. The score blends string and piano elements to create a whimsical and sometimes nostalgic motif.

    According to Cornish, "The director, Dennis Lee, was looking for a deeply expressive score." To accomplish this goal, Cornish focused on developing the film's musical themes, performed by world-class soloists.
    "It's a classical score for solo violin, cello, piano, oboe and chamber orchestra," she explained. She described the main theme, which features solo cello, as "lush" and "evocative". An additional theme for Lisa's (Julia Roberts) character was written for piano trio to be "poignant".

    Cornish embraced minimalism at certain points in her writing process, stating that there are some scenes "where the most delicate solo piano was just enough".

    Cornish reported enthusiastically on her experience of scoring Fireflies in the Garden, stating: "I was so honored to have the opportunity to write the music to such a beautiful film with an outstanding cast."

    About Jane Antonia Cornish
    Jane Antonia Cornish's film composing credits include Highland Park and Solstice. In addition to receiving a BAFTA award for her score to Henson's 5 Children and It, Cornish received a Danish Academy Award nomination and a Movie Music U.K. award for scoring Island of Lost Souls. The International Film Music Critics Association nominated her for Breakthrough Composer 2007 for the Island score.

    In addition to her composing work, Cornish has worked in Hollywood as an orchestrator on Kung Fu Panda, Horton Hears a Who, and Hancock. Cornish's symphony received a Special Distinction by the ASCAP Foundation's Rudolph Nissim Prize Jury, and her piano-trio piece Duende received its commission by renowned Chamber Music ensemble the Lee Trio. Duende Premiered at the Chelsea Music Festival in 2010.

    Cornish's composing career began at the age of 17 when she was a finalist in the BBC Young Composer of the Year competition. She studied at the Royal Northern College of Music, where she was named a Major Scholar and received a composition prize. Cornish completed her graduate studies at the Royal College of Music in London. She now lives in Los Angeles.

    For more information please visit: www.JaneAntoniaCornish.com

    Interviews, music and photos available.
    Contact: Costa Communications
    Ph: 323.650.3588 rcosta ( @ ) costacomm dot com

  • FB Icon Twitter Icon In-Icon
Contact Information