Grassroot Diplomat Honours Six Politicians and Diplomats for Selfless Acts

Top Quote A total of six diplomats and politicians based in the UK were announced as winners of the inaugural Grassroot Diplomat Initiative Award for their commitment to the people's interest. End Quote
  • (1888PressRelease) February 03, 2013 - LONDON - The winners of the inaugural Grassroot Diplomat Initiative Awards were announced a few days ago at a ceremony in London. Over 120 distinguished guests from embassies, political offices, universities and non-government organisations gathered to celebrate the achievements of outstanding diplomats and politicians representing the people's interest at the highest level.

    Host and director of Grassroot Diplomat Talyn Rahman-Figueroa described the nominees as "worthy examples for all others... committed to listening and respecting the needs of the people". The competition was stiff with over 30 government officials shortlisted for this honour but there could only be six winners. Winners were judged on the quality and outreach of their campaign, level of support within the community and results of their direct actions.

    The full list of winners:

    Robert Buckland, MP for South Swindon
    - Policy Driver Winner for Special Educational Needs
    HE Mauricio Rodriguez Munera, Embassy of Colombia
    - Policy Driver Winner for Evaluating International Drug Trade
    Baroness May Blood MBE, House of Lords
    - Social Driver Winner for Integrated Education in Northern Ireland
    HE Ivan Romero-Martinez, Embassy of Honduras
    - Social Driver Winner for Supporting Street Children
    Debbie Abrahams, MP for Oldham East and Saddleworth
    - Business Driver Winner for Pay on Time Campaign
    HE Dr Suresh Chandra Chalise, Embassy of Nepal
    - Business Driver Winner for Business Integration of the Gurkhas

    Grassroot Diplomat Honourees

    Tom Watson, MP for West Bromwich East
    HE Ruth Elizabeth Rouse, High Commission of Grenada
    Embassy of the Republic of Bulgaria, London
    Jeremy Corbyn, MP for North Islington
    Councillor Chris Maines, Blackheath Ward
    HE Daniel Taub, Embassy of Israel

    The Initiative Award was supported by Chateau de la Ligne, Kenya Airways, St James Theatre, Gastronomica, World Vision Photography, All Health Studio, Denbies Wine Estate and the Grange Hotel. Guests were treated to live cello wine reception, 3-course meal, raffle fundraising, and performance by Eurovision artist Imaani.

    For more information about the award and winners, please contact Shireen Shahnavaz on +44 (0) 77789-31204 or shireen ( @ ) grassrootdiplomat dot org.

  • FB Icon Twitter Icon In-Icon
Contact Information