Apeejay organizes 2nd Indian Obstetrics and Gynaecology (IOG) Dr.Stya Paul Awards 2013

Top Quote Apeejay Stya & Svrán Group held the second edition of the IOG-Dr.Stya Paul Awards on the evening of October 5 at Apeejay Campus Auditorium, Sheikh Sarai, New Delhi. End Quote
  • (1888PressRelease) October 11, 2013 - The Awards have been instituted to recognize outstanding contributory articles published in the 'Indian Obstetrics & Gynaecology - Journal for Basic & Clinical Research'. The Awards ceremony wasattended by around 500 eminent Obstetricians & Gynaecologists from various parts of the country.

    Addressing the dignitaries and doctors present; Mr. Aditya Berlia, Member, Management Board of the Apeejay Stya Group said "According to WHO, 800 women die of pregnancy related complications and child birth everyday, 99% of these deaths occur in developing countries. Majority of these deaths are preventable. India, unfortunately accounts for 19% of all global maternal death and has the highest maternal death rate in the world.It also accounts for 23.6% of global preterm births, with a preterm birth rate of 13%. The contribution of these preterm births to overall prenatal morbidity and mortality is more than 85%".

    In her inaugural address, Mrs. Sushma Berlia, President of Apeejay Stya & Svrán Group, and Chancellor, Apeejay Stya University said, "When we talk about overcoming challenges, it is not important just to overcome challenges but to achieve excellence, realising your highest potential and fulfilling your deepest purposes. Today's awards recognise excellence in research in the pursuit of achieving health and happiness of women and new born."

    In his special oration lecture,Professor Philip J. Steer, Emeritus Professor of Obstetrics, Academic Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, Imperial College, London,suggested various ways with which maternal death rates can be curtailed. He said, "Using newer medication without checking the results of their clinical trials can be very dangerous. When we use new techniques in medicine, they should be properly evaluated".

    The event followed with the introduction of the IOG Journal by Dr. J. B. Sharma, Editor-in-Chief, IOG Journal & Additional Professor, Dept. of Obst&Gynae, AIIMS, New Delhi.

    The IOG Dr. Stya Paul Awards were presented in three categories:Best Case Report, Best Review Article and Best Original Study. The award for the Best Case Report went to Dr. Manjusha Jindal (and co-authors), Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Goa Medical College.

    The award for the Best Review Article was bestowed upon Dr.Prashant Joshi, Associate Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Adichunchagiri Institute of Medical Sciences, Karnataka.

    The Best Original Study award was won by Dr.Manidip Pal, Associate Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology JNM Hospital, West Bengal.

    The announcement and presentation of the Awards was followed by a series of presentations by the Awardees on their research. The ceremony also featured a short film on 'Reminiscences of Dr. Stya Paul'.

    The event concluded with the vote of thanks by Mr. Nishant Berlia, Member, Management Board, Apeejay Stya & Svrán Group. Expressing his gratitude on behalf of the Group, he said, "I extend a very heartfelt vote of thanks to all of you for gracing the IOG Dr.Stya Paul Awards2013 and making the event a grand success."

    About Apeejay Stya&Svrán Group
    Apeejay Stya&Svrán Group, founded in 1942, is a leading Indian Industrial & Investment House with interests in Automotives, Chemicals & Plastics, Distribution, Logistics & Retail, Life Sciences and Real Estate, and has a nascent presence in Information Technology, Merchant Banking & Financial Services and Publishing. It is one of the major corporate houses in India, and has several alliances and foreign collaborations with a significant presence in Europe, Middle East and East Asia. The Group also has a large social commitment under the aegis of the Apeejay Education Society.

    About the awards:
    The Awards have been constituted in the memory of Dr. Stya Paul - eminent industrialist, educationist, philanthropist and freedom fighter. As Founder Chairman, Apeejay Stya Group & Apeejay Education Society and Founder Chancellor, Apeejay Stya University, he provided the foundation and inspiration for the emergence of the Apeejay Stya Group and the Apeejay Education Society as trusted symbols of quality and excellence in the country's industrial and educational landscape.

  • FB Icon Twitter Icon In-Icon
Contact Information